top of page

What is Freemasonry?

Freemasonry is the leading fraternal organization in the world. Its origins are lost in the unrecorded history of medieval times, but it formally organized in London, England, in 1717. Current worldwide membership totals over 3 million members, 1.1 million of whom are in North America. With over 122,000 Masons and 914 local Lodges, in Texas.

As a fraternal organization, Freemasonry unites men of good character who, though of different religious, ethnic or social backgrounds, share a belief in the fatherhood of God and the brotherhood of mankind.

​To get started on your journey to becoming a Master Mason, visit our Join page.

A Blueprint For Living
​to Your Potential

Freemasonry is an individual journey towards becoming a better father, husband, citizen and man, supported by other men at different points on the same journey. For centuries, the Lodge itself has been the lauchpad for Masonic Education, and a common groudn for Brethren of different backgrounds meet and exchange ideas, provide support and offer friendship.​

  • Brotherly Love: Caring for Each Other and our Communities

  • Relief: Humbly Assist Those in Distress

  • Truth: Using Knowledge and Understanding to Improve Ourselves, Our Families and Our Communities

Brotherly Love,
​Relief and Truth

The traditions of Freemasonry are founded upon the building of King Solomon's Temple, and its fraternal ceremonies use the working tools of the stonemasons to symbolize moral lessons of Brotherly Love, Relief and Truth.

​For example, Masons are reminded at Lodge to "meet upon the level of equality, act by the plumb of uprightness, and part upon the square of virtue."

Freemasonry is not meant in any way to interfere with an individual's commitment to his faith, family or occupation. Freemasonry is not and never can be a replacement for these important institutions; rather, it is a positive environment that reminds every Mason of himself, his family, community and the Supreme Architect (an individual's own definition of a Supreme Being.)


The experience of becoming a member of a Masonic Lodge is divided into three ceremonial stages that Masons call "degrees." These  three degrees are loosely based upon the journeyman system, which was used to educate Medieval Craftsmen. Symbolically, the degrees represent the three stages of human development: youth, manhood and age.

For more information and F.A.Q. visit Be a Freemason
bottom of page